Schooling in Australia till the Secondary Level

Schooling in Australia till the Secondary Level

Australia has a sound and stable platform in the field of education. The states and territories look after the funding of education. The country is primarily divided into six states, namely:

  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia

In addition, there are two mainland territories:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • Northern Territory

Other than providing the funds, the states and territories moderate the government (public) and private schools in their respective sovereign. The public universities are funded by the federal government.The official language of Australia is English. It is different from the conventional British English in terms of syntax, grammar, and accent. It is used as the instructional language in all fields of education in Australia. However, other languages are also practiced in the country.

From where schooling begins

A child’s schooling begins from pre-school. Pre-preparatory programs in Australia are less stringent, as they are not mandatory. The government at the state and territorial levels should implement norms to make this stage compulsory.The pre-school phase is not considered to be a part of schooling. This is because, in majority of the territories, pre-schooling and primary schooling are two different sectors. In a number of territories, pre-schools denote the year before joining the primary school. However, Western Australia embraces pre-prep and primary schooling in one distinct category.Kindergarten schools in Queensland, which are run by private organizations, are considered as pre-schools. Government funding can be arranged if the school manages to function for about 600 hours a year and has a legally authorized teacher.Government-aided pre-schools are undertaken by the state and territorial governments. New South Wales, South Australia, and Victoria have a different scenario, as pre-schooling is administered by:

  • Private organizations
  • Community groups
  • Local councils

The general age group for pre-school ranges from 3-5 years. As per the record, 85.7% children in Australia get admitted to the pre-schools.

Primary schooling

Since pre-schooling is not mandatory, post pre-school or primary school is the starting point for many children. Children from 6-12 years fall under the jurisdiction of the primary schools. As per the norms of the local governments, primary schooling is a must.The government or the state authorities in Australia have to become strict and firm in regard to the implementation of education. Otherwise, the nation will not have any academic growth or development. Education itself will get debased and be taken for granted.Schooling can either be government or private. In government schools, education is for free. Hence, authorities might seek donation from the parents occasionally. Private schools, on the contrary, are expensive. However, both the private and the government schools follow a standard academic curriculum.Parents quite often undergo dilemmas in regard to getting their wards admitted to either private or public schools. Private schools receive government funds as well.The session or academic year begins in February or the first week of March. Most schools have three to four terms a year.

Secondary Level

Secondary education in Australia begins from Year 7. On average, 12-13 year olds get admitted to this standard. This continues till Year 12 - the year of Matriculation. In certain schools, education at the secondary level gets divided into two parts. Year 7 to Year 10 is categorized under secondary school, while Year 11 and Year 12 are placed under the senior secondary education.

Australian Curriculum

National Curriculum is available in certain countries and Australia is just one of them. The purpose of a National Curriculum is to look after the smooth workflow of a uniform education module in terms of content and education standards. It is a common program, which is planned and carried out by the national government and requires active coordination and cooperation of the regional bodies that administer their respective school curriculums.The Australian Curriculum is one such program for all its states and territories, where it is vested right from Kindergarten to Year 12. The responsibility has been undertaken by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority.

Role of the Anglican and Catholic Schools

The Anglican schools in Australia receive the educational services of the Anglican Church of Australia. This is a part of Australia’s education system. The Church of England has been providing services in the field of education since the late 18th century. Presently, there are 145 Anglican schools in Australia.Here’s a list of a few Anglican schools in Australia:

  • The King’s School – Parramatta
  • Melbourne Grammar School
  • Geelong Grammar School

The Catholic schools are catered to by the Roman Catholic Church in Australia. The Catholic Church has established schools at primary, secondary and tertiary levels. These Catholic schools rank next to the government schools. They have been functioning since the 19th century.With a wide range of services and set ups, Australia has a dense variety of alternatives in the field of education. According to the education firm Pearson, Australia had ranked 13th in 2012 in the field of education across the globe.


Learnpick is an online marketplace for all kinds of tutoring and learning services. We provide a platform to help learners find home tutors, online tutors, expert trainers,tutorial centers, training institutes and online tutoring schools. Learners can also find local classes, workshops, online courses and tutorials on a huge variety of topics.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *